Goals

This year, I am going to ride from Gatlinburg to the top of Newfound Gap. It’s about 17 miles and goes from 1300+ feet to above 6000 feet. I also want to enter a 6 or 12 hour mtb race. The goal is to finish. So, I’ve been hitting the indoor trainer and sometimes pop outside after dark. Spinervals is my choice. The Aerobase series and the Tuscon training video. I have a schedule planned out through June and the race I think I might go to is in August. Not sure of that one , yet. Coming from the flattest part of Indiana, I figure this is a good challenge for me.

That being said, I did about 25 minutes of the Mt Lemmon climb from the Tucson video at around 90%.

Oh, and I received another email from the Gatlinburg Trolley and they do not have plans to add bike racks to the trolley. However, she said she would pass the idea up to her supervisor. Have they never thought about this? Maybe, due to the fact that Gatlinburg is a tourist town. But, surprisingly, we get a lot of people riding in the national park on the roads and mountain bikers asking where to really ride. What do we have to tell them? Go across the mountain to Tsali. Yeah, it’s a great place. But when most land in the ‘burg, they believe there are some really cool places to ride right here. Not in the park. One possibility would be Ober Gatlinburg during the off season. They’re ski season is getting shorter, it seems. And they have the perfect facility to run a mountain bike area. It has been mentioned to them. Maybe more people can call, email, write them about the subject and peak their interest? Hmm…

I used to be a commuter up in Indiana. I don’t commute here. I’m trying to figure it out. It’s crazy with the tourists. And to be honest, I live an hour away from the ‘burg. I spend MOST of my time in the ‘burg. All of my friends are there. And I spend many of my days off there. The tourists do scare me. They drive terribly. And the other fear for now are the dogs. I have some that try to attack my car tires while I’m driving by. I can’t imagine being on a bike. Why don’t I move closer? I moved here to help my Dad out. He got sick and has been through a 3 year recovery. I’m here to help out and I like to help out. My parents are cool folks. So, there’s where I am. That’s also why I’m trying to figure out the Trolley bike rack. I would love to ride to the nearest stop, a couple of towns over from home and ride it to Gatlinburg. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

