• My LBS in NC

  • My LBS in TN

  • Marla Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Blue Smoke Coffee

I got a cool logo from Kevin today for his coffee company. He’s a friend and we’ve sold Blue Smoke at the Happy Hiker for quite some time now. The first product of his that I got hooked on was his chocolate covered espresso beans. I like to think of myself as a connoisseur of chocolate, including the covered beans.

Ever since living in Indiana and having very easy access to a local (and very worldwide, now) chocolatier company I have been hooked on said covered bean. It was simply the best. While working at the bike shop, several of the employees would call over to the local outlet and place an order. This always included a rather large bag of the covered beans. Happiness.

After moving to Tennessee, and loosing the easy connection, people would buy these covered beans for me elsewhere. I don’t remember a lot of the places of purchase. Well, one huge coffee chain based out of Seattle. Let me tell you, I was rather let down by the quality and taste. I think that bag lasted 6 months before I threw it away. I don’t like throwing stuff like that away.

So, here comes Kevin and his Blue Smoke. You know as soon as I saw he had the covered beans, I had to get some. I will happily say that these are the BEST. And if I didn’t think so, I wouldn’t have told him or kept buying them.

Oh and about his coffee. I used to drink a lot of coffee up north. However, it really killed my stomach and , well, other things. So I really tried to not drink it. I do now drink the decaf a little bit, kind of gun shy, and haven’t had the stomach problems. My mom drinks it and said it was the first decaf she had had that didn’t leave an after taste. From what I hear and read, the better quality coffees do not have quite the amount of acidity that causes the stomach pains. So far, so good.

And from most of the comments from the customers in the store, it’s well worth it. I guess what I’m saying is that if you like coffee, maybe a true coffee snob (this is a good thing), then go over the Kevin’s site and give the beans a try.

Oh, and did I mention that he roasts at most 1 1/2 pounds at a time the day before he ships it to you?

Leave a Reply

