• My LBS in NC

  • My LBS in TN

  • Marla Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Broke in the Xtracycle.


So, I started to ride into the Park. Wanted to get one in before the temperature dropped a little. Well, on the way over to the Visitor Center and HQ, I started noticing trash all along the side of the road. It seems like a little more than usual. Maybe due to the super warm weather.

A side note, don’t put trash into your side bags without something in there to keep them clean. Beer bottles and general crap will get all over the inside! I think I need to hose them out.

Once I got to HQ I called Babette, the Ranger I volunteer for, and asked her for some trash bags. I also emptied what I had collected already.

On my way back, I collected two trash bags full of crap. And a bag i had to put a dirty diaper in. Yeah, some moron threw one out their window onto the side of the road in the National Park.

I ended up riding/walking for almost two hours. And below are what I collected from HQ back to town.

4 Responses

  1. Glad to know somebody else gets that compulsion to toss things into the bags… I just let mine crappify. Stuff I want to keep clean, I put in bags first 😉 Once I found a bucket of swimming pool chlorine tablets, leaking onto the grass and killing it… not sure what I’m going to do with it but it was nice to be able to just put it in there..

  2. Yeah, it was weird. Just happened. But I also love my Park and it was a good excuse to spend more time in it!

    I think I might try to put some crates in there like Jack did on BikeCommuters.com. And making a habit of picking up the trash on this little bit of Park road:)

    Keep up the good work!

  3. Nice rig Marla. I’ll get there one day.

    I do believe that’s the longest seatpost I have ever seen. It’s longer than the seat-tube on the frame!

  4. Hee hee! It is. I was thinking that I need to fly a flag off of it!

Leave a Reply

