I was caught like a deer in headlights…

but more about that later.

Seeing as the Oompa Loompas have just released me from a two day chocolate drive in the kitchen, I am now back to the bike for two nights. I have learned a bit from time in the saddle lately.

One…I have been severely riding too short along the top tube. Tonight, I went down to the shed and my extra parts to recover an older Easton stem. It is longer than the two current stems on the Fuel and Pugsley. And I now understand why one should put a longer stem on a bike equipped with a Titec H-Bar. Just do it, don’t ask.

Since I switched out the Pugs stem, the Thomson from it went to the Fuel. It’s 10mm longer. You have no idea how much better I feel now. Well maybe you do? Which brings me to…

Two…my nether region complains. I had switched over to a WTB women’s saddle because it was a bit wider to accommodate my wider sit bones. I originally had been riding the Bontrager FS2000 for about 7-8 years comfortably. Switched to a WTB Rocket, which ended up being too narrow. But hey, it was black with pink! So, I tried the women’s. The complaint I have with it is the nose is padded, but with a soft padding. Too soft. So soft I feel the hardness of the saddle bottom. Ummm, ouch! I put my old tried and true Bontrager back on and it was once again bliss:)

Chocolate? Yes, this time of year my mom and myself restrict ourselves to the kitchen at night. We are closet chocolatiers. Well, I am. She used to do it for a living wayyy back when. In fact, she and a certain famous one from up in Indiana learned their skills from the gal’s parents. And now I am doing this too. Mmmmm….chocolate.

And lastly. Using my last couple of paychecks from working at the bike shop I bought myself a new headlight. A Planet Bike Blaze 2 watt. We’ll see how that works in the coming weeks. I’d like to get it out into the Park at night to compare. When I do, you’ll be the second to know!

Enough for now…I go to sleep soon!

2 Responses

  1. Mmmm chocolate.

  2. hey Marla, post a few pics of the comparison of the bike lights when you get a chance… grazie!

Leave a Reply

