So here’s the deal.

Well…some time has passed and I thought I’d share why TI is out for me.

Money.

And by that I mean I was permanently layed off two Wednesdays ago. Was it a shock…actually, no. Things haven’t been going well at the store so it was only a matter of time before it had to happen. So, with that starts a new job search.

My first pick would be a bike shop or company…and that’s where I’m concentrating. Unfortunately, the shop I PT at isn’t able to take me on full time. Remember, this is a tourist county that is dead 4-5 months of the year. Ideally I’d like to work at a shop that I could bike to. And this means moving.

I’m not at all opposed to moving, as this area is quite frankly not bike friendly. So, I’m researching and sending out feeler emails to areas that I’d like to live.

Got any ideas for me? Send them my way…email is on the about page.

So why not TI? I don’t have the money to make the trip. I am working out details on how to pay the existing bills I have, and I am…but I feel that if I do not have a job…well..no money. And when I do…Hi, I just started working for you and I’d like to start by taking a week off.

I am looking for a long term commitment with a future employer. Not going to rock the boat right away.

I’ll try to get in to TI next year, the third times a charm, right?

I’ll keep y’all posted:)

7 Responses

  1. Terribly sorry to hear this Marla. Wisconsin is a pretty bike friendly place, though I’m not to sure about any bike shops that are hiring. Could always try the Trek/Gary Fisher factory in the Madison area. Madison’s a real bike friendly community especially for being such a big city. Keep us all posted if there’s anything we can do to help.

    • Thanks Craig…funny you say that. I did look at the Madison store, but right now only hiring PT. However, I got my resume together again and am sending one up to the Trek store in Wausau. Wisconsin is one of the places I’ve been wanting to live. Many trips to Trek being at a dealer in the past and my roommate from college was from LaCrosse. We’ll see!

  2. Wausau is an awesome city, I went to college there. Although, La Crosse is equally as awesome with some great trail riding. I think you’d enjoy either place.

  3. If you are thinking of Wisconsin, Door County might be a place to at least help you get moved that way. Touristy area with a shop/rental place outside of Peninsula State Park plus a lot of other seasonal stuff to tide you over until the steady eddy comes around. Good luck!

    • I was just on a site listing some Wisconsin shops and saw Door County. Glad to have some insight into the place:)

      Just applied to a shop in Montana…I think I want to go to a northern state in general:)

  4. ahhh, dang, sorry to hear. Well try to stay positive. Hopefully somebody will see your zest for bicycling, your passion for keeping the trails clean, and say that’s the person I want to work for me. Madison is one of the most bike friendly cities in the U.S. of A.
    Good luck.
    Dave

Leave a Reply

