• My LBS in NC

  • My LBS in TN

  • Marla Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Townsend for the weekend.

I’ve been riding with my friend Holly lately and Saturday after work we ended up in Townsend, TN.

Townsend has a greenway going from one end of town to the other. And it’s on both sides of the highway.

Yes, there’s a railroad museum along the way, among other things. I think an Appalachian museum of sorts and a National Park visitor center. Oh yeah, and mountains!

Note to selfcontinue riding to get rid of that double chin!

At the other end of the greenway we found the ice cream stand:)

Note to selfice cream does not help double chin go away!

We ended up with a ten mile round trip. If you’re in the area I recommend going to Townsend with a bike. There are also many roads to get out on in the area.

I did go home after the ride, only to come back the next day with mom and dad. Holly had recommended having the brunch at Miss Lily’s.

It was REALLY good! My omelet was made right in front of me…mmmm:) You’ll find your regular breakfast fare, fruit and vegetable platters, desserts. I know there were more lunch type foods available but I didn’t go for any of that.

Actually, I believe that I could eat breakfast any time of day! We used to do that on Wednesday nights after work at the shop in Indiana.

So, if you find yourself in the Smoky Mountain area, my vote is to hang out in Townsend. It quiet, even being the tubing capital of Tennessee, with good bike riding and very close to the National Park.

Another website I recently found to help work on your bike…

I don’t even remember why I was trying to find instructions on Avid brakes, but if you click here you will find some good stuff on BB7’s.

6 Responses

  1. Omelets is just like biking, both are good 24-7

  2. Not sure if you noticed the markers on the sides of the bike trail…..these are mile markers starting at the Townsend Visitors Center that match up with the “Shadows of the Past” brochure developed by the Visitors Bureau. The brochure points out some of the historical sites adjacent to the trail and tells a little of the history. The brochure is available at the Visitors Center in Townsend.

    • I did see those. Had no idea. Thanks for the info, we’ll be sure to grab one next time out:)

  3. Thanks for the Avid BB7 instructions link. My Pugsley has the first set of dic brakes I’ve owned. I’ve never been satisfied or felt like I knew what I was doing when setting them up. These instructions are different than what comes in the owner’s manual. I’m going to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

