It begins…

Trans Iowa v 7 training, I mean.

I am riding a minimum of every other day right now. And, I have 2 reliable training partners. One of whom mentioned a goal for us would be to climb English Mountain. Another friend, who has actually climbed said mountain, said we’re nuts. Okay.

Obviously I have to get in again with a post card. And I’m counting on not losing my job this time!

During this heat wave, of which I’m not a fan, I have learned a little more about fueling. Yesterday I concentrated on keeping hydrated with water and electrolytes throughout the day and during the ride.

I finally didn’t feel like keeling over during the ride!

Who knew!

So now it’s back to building up the mileage.

Oh, and I’m finally going to get to ride the Virginia Creeper next month! Pics will be posted on that ride:)

Later.

5 Responses

  1. I think you can bike forever and learn something on every ride.

  2. A goal is a great way to keep motivated. I never tire of riding everyday. But I do ride longer and farther when I have a goal.

    Good luck in your build up to the TI v7.

  3. Well, I’m really enjoying riding again. This last year has been draining and I feel like myself again finally!

    Taking advice and getting an earlier start:)

  4. Good for you Marla! I too find that I can go harder, faster, and longer when I have a goal in front of me. Another trick I found is to tell as many people as will listen about your goal. That way next time they see you, you know they will ask you about it, and you don’t want to look the fool by saying that you gave up or whatever, so you stay motivated to strive towards that finish line.

    • Thanks! Tis true. This gravel ride has been on my mind for a few years. If it hadn’t been for the job loss, would have attempted it last year. But, I’m finally wising up and starting to really train this year.

Leave a Reply

