• My LBS in NC

  • My LBS in TN

  • Marla Twitter

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

The Lost Cyclist

by David V. Herlihy

I finally finished this book. Yay!

It’s set in the 1880’s and starts with the story of Frank Lenz and mixes in a little bit of bicycle history during the time. Lenz started as a bicycle racer. As the story unfolds, we see him evolve into a tourist.

Also introduced into the full story are two world tourists, Americans Lewis Sachtleben and Thomas Gaskell Allen Jr.

Sachtleben would come back to the story as the person who retraces Lenz’s last tracks leading to his disappearance. With his knowledge of the areas, seeing as he was there on his own tour, we see the evidence through his eyes and his conclusion of what happened to Lenz. We also get a more in depth story of the areas Lenz went through. The good and the very scary. Sachtleben¬† had the benefit of traveling with a companion on his tour. Lenz, as we find out, did not.

How do I rate this book? I say, buy the hardcover and when you’re done, add it to your library.

4 Responses

  1. Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

    I’ve already added it to my “plan to read” list on Shelfari, and checked my local library to make sure they have it. Looking forward to this one.

  2. Marla, on a scale of 1 to 10 where would you place it?

    • I’d say at least an 8. It’s definitely worth having a hardback copy in my library.

Leave a Reply

