Congratulations…it’s a….

brand new bike!

Raleigh in front of WWII tree in Cades Cove

What else could it be?

We became a Raleigh dealer a little over a month ago, on top of Raleigh having closeouts for 2011 bikes. This all equaled to I had to by a new bike.

Talus 8.0. 26″ wheeled moutain bike. 9 speed Alivio with mechanical disc brakes and a Suntour suspension fork with lock-out. If you want more detail, here’s the link to it.

What did I change? Not as much this time. I put a slightly longer stem on, a longer seatpost,  a Specialized Riva seat, my Ergon grips and Time pedals. Almost forgot…I put on some Specialized Crossroads Armadillo (more on-road than off for now). I’ve used these before and really like the dual purpose of them.

Yesterday was my first ride(with the original seatpost) along our little bike path. I’ve been looking at bikes all summer and comparing the geometry to my Specialized Crosstrail. It’s my favorite and most comfortable bike. This one fit the bill. The seat tube was a degree more lax, and I felt it. Besides my seatpost being a wee bit too short (can’t fly a flag on it) it also was a setback design. My Crosstrail had a no-setback post. Therefore, the change. I also lowered the stem, as it came with a slight riser bar. This all seemed to do the trick.

Today, with all the changes in place, I rode it out on my bike patrol in Cades Cove. I came back with a slight tinge in the side of my knee and a slightly pulled neck muscle. Oh, but those were due to yesterday’s ride(knee) and apparently picking up a jug of water out of the refridgerator(neck). It’s hell getting old!

Animal tally for the ride: uncountable deer and one mama bear off in the distance. Not to mention several tourists vehicles cleverly left idling in the middle of the road!

I’ll be out there again on Wednesday with the bikes, yay!

Leave a Reply

